What is Wrong with Apple Keynote Presentations?

I always look forward to Apple presentations and the WWDC, yet every time the presentations rub me the wrong way. Why?

Erik Engheim
6 min readJun 8, 2021

Did you watch Apple’s WWDC 2021 keynote? Did anything bother you? Me too. Sure there was a lot of cool new stuff. In particular I loved the Universal Control. I so often wished I could just move my mouse cursor over to another device and grab what I want instead of setting up some kind of sharing, email myself or put in a dropbox. Yet the magic was gone and it has been for quite some time. Without Steve Jobs it is not the same. I am more likely to check of a Tesla or SpaceX presentation by Elon Musk.

This has made me reflect upon what exactly it is about Apple presentations that makes me roll my eyes? As an author I have worked with editors, and that experience has made me see more clearly what has gone wrong at Apple. You know what it feels like when you become part of a machine, with checkboxes to mark off.

Look at the presentations given at Apple by the likes Craig Federighi. They all follow the same corporate recipe. It is a formula. They will tell you to present material in a very specific manner. One punchline after the other:

  • Tell the viewer about a feature and explain why they need…

--

--

Erik Engheim

Geek dad, living in Oslo, Norway with passion for UX, Julia programming, science, teaching, reading and writing.